19 November 2018

StartPoint Prize 2018 in Brno

Jonaes Kjeldgaard Sørensen, Broadcaster, 2018, silicone, epoxy, aluminium, steel, servomotors, micro controller, speaker
StartPoint Prize 2018 in Brno
Jonaes Kjeldgaard Sørensen, Broadcaster, 2018, silicone, epoxy, aluminium, steel, servomotors, micro controller, speaker

The StartPoint Prize, dedicated to art school graduates, has evolved during its sixteen years of existence from a national show of degree‘s works to a prestigious international project, annually introducing the most outstanding talents of emerging artistic generations from various European countries. Presently, it covers 28 prestigious academies from 14 countries and is the largest European overview of its kind. The works of all 28 finalists are published on the project’s website www.startpointprize.eu. The winner of the prize gets a complete production of his/her solo catalogue and together with other awarded artists a one month residency in Prague during the following year.

Camille Yvert, Hamonized Standards I, Engraved foil backed plasterboard, polystyrene, safety glasses, clear PETG, metal. Variable sizes, 2018
Jur de Vries, My Deepest Regret, oil on canvas, 50x70cm, 2018
Radu Pandele, Homemade death machine, 2018, Fiberglass sculpture, ready made objects, plaster and urine
Wieland Schönfelder, They, 2018, 3D prints, wallpapers, video, text

Instead of one enormous overview, this year we are planning a whole series of expositions: after the opening exhibition at the House of Arts in Brno we are preparing a performative pop-up presentation, showing artists who work with the elements of theatre, performance or interactive installations.

StartPoint Prize was founded in 2003 at the Klatovy Gallery / Klenová Gallery, since 2009 the award was accompanied by a Started residency programmme for awarded artists. Since 2010 is StartPoint Prize an independent prize, being hosted by important museums (GASK Kutná Hora, Wannieck Gallery Brno, DOX , National Gallery in Prague). StartPoint also produces smaller selective exhibitions in other European cities (Bucharest, Gent, Bratislava, Amsterdam). Since 2017, StartPoint Prize is backed by the Contemporary Arts Fund, which also manages the renowned Richard Adam Collection.

Mindaugas Pupelis, Dušeles, 16mm film, 7 min
Gaisha Madanova, Installation, 2018, various materials, the dimension ca. 210 x 300 cm
Jonathan Hielkema, Is This What I Want? Provocations from an Art Student, 2018. installation, book, website
Basile Ghosn, Untitled, 2018, installation (wallpaper, photocopies, metal, paint, glass)
Róża Duda, Michał Soja, I am a miner’s son, 2018, site-specific installation (videos, lightboxes, sculptures)
Kateřina Baránková, Preparation for a Future Career, video, text, 2018. photo Matěj Doležel
Anastasia Afonina, The Conversation, video installation, 2018
Vojtěch Adamec, Greetings from Distant Countries, 2018, wood, foam, porcelain, architecture models
Marios Stamatis (with Lea Collet): Accidental Encounters, 2018, performace, video, 3D render prints

The StartPoint Prize is unique not only for its long tradition and span, but also for its independence, where the academies hold only a minority consulting vote. It does not even determine the medium, technique or theme, the most important criterion is the novelty and originality. During the sixteen years of StartPoint‘s existence, hundreds of artists have passed through, many of which are respected stars today, and all of them together create a unique geographical and temporal cross-section of European contemporary art in its freshest form.


ArtistVojtěch Adamec, Anastasia Afonina, Kateřina Baránková, David Bartoš, Emilia Bergmark, Gilles Dusong, Basile Ghosn, Simona Gottierova, Jonathan Hielkema, Holger Højberg, Ieva Kraule, Gaisha Madanova, Zagrose Mehrkian, Ernst Miesgang, Radu Pandele, Mindaugas Pupelis, Vojtěch Rada, Wieland Schönfelder, Jonaes Kjeldgaard Sørensen, Marios Stamatis, Tamara Stoll, Manuel Tayarani, Charline Tyberghein, Vilje Vestenfor, Jur de Vries, Camille Yvert, Amanda Ziemele
ExhibitionStartPoint Prize 2018
Dates13 September – 29 October 2018
Curated byPavel Vančát

See also